Made In Brazil CD

Made In Brazil CD

Regular price$10.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Made in Brazil, marks a musical homecoming for the multi-GRAMMY®-nominated pianist/keyboardist/singer/composer. In Elias’ three-decade long career as a solo artist, Made in Brazil results from the first time she s recorded a disc in her native Brazil since moving to the United States in 1981.

Along with co-producers, Steve Rodby and Marc Johnson, her bass playing musical partner, Elias ventured home and recruited a splendid cast of Brazilian musicians that include electric bassist Marcelo Mariano; guitarists Marcus Teixeira and Roberto Menescal; drummers Edu Ribeiro and Rafael Barata; and percussionists Mauro Refosco and Marivaldo dos Santos.

Elias peppered the sessions with delightful special guest performances from Mark Kibble and the multi-GRAMMY® Award-winning gospel vocal group Take 6; her singer/songwriter-daughter Amanda Brecker; one of Brazil's most celebrated R&B stars, Ed Motta; and the distinguished bossa nova composer Roberto Menescal.

In terms of material, Made in Brazil contains six Elias originals plus two Ary Barroso standards, two Roberto Menescal chestnuts, and two Antônio Carlos Jobim world-renowned gems. Elias, who did all the arrangements for the basic tracks, said that she purposely wanted Made in Brazil to incorporate three generations of Brazilian composers. But it s not a retro record, she clarifies. It's very contemporary yet with the tradition and authenticity of Brazil; it s music of the world with Brazilian DNA.

1. "Brasil" (4:40)
2. "Você" (5:19)
3. "Águas de Março" (5:52)
4. "Searching" (4:52)
5. "Some Enchanted Place" (5:02)
6. "Incendiando" (4:50)
7. "Vida" (If Not You) (4:41)
8. "Este Seu Olhar / Promessas" (3:29)
9. "Driving Ambition" (5:29)
10. "Rio" (4:50)
11. "A Sorte do Amor" (3:47)

You may also like

Recently viewed