"Esperanza" CD

"Esperanza" CD

Regular price$9.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

Released 5/20/2008


Esperanza's opening track, "Ponta De Areia" nods to one of the many places she comes from musically. The track, with its languid, nursery rhyme-like melody and beautifully understated instrumental accompaniment, gently opens the listener to an aural experience that's quite unlike anything else out there. Spalding sings in three languages here -- English, Spanish, and Portuguese -- she plays bass, does the arranging, and acts as her own producer on this wildly diverse and exceptionally well-executed set. How does a 23-year-old get all that control? Simple: she's a prodigy; she is a seasoned session player (she's worked with Joe LovanoPat Metheny, and Patti Austin to name just three), and she's a faculty member at the Berklee College of Music. - Thom Jurek (AllMusic.com)


1. Ponta De Areia 5:40
2. I Know You Know 3:46
3. Fall In 3:57
4. I Adore You 7:27
5. Cuerpo Y Alma (Body & Soul) 8:02
6. She Got To You 4:28
7. Precious 4:24
8. Mela 6:56
9. Love In Time 5:46
10. Espera 4:39
11. If That's True 7:32
12. Samba Em Preludio 5:12

This Official Concord Jazz Store is managed by SCP Merchandising.  If you have any questions about merch or your order, please use our FAQ Center


Questions about your purchase and can't find the answers on the FAQ page? Please contact us here or send us a note to:


We do our best to respond to all inquiries within 1-2 business days or less.

This contact page is for the Concord Jazz Store only and is not a contact page for A&R or other Concord Jazz Records business.

You may also like

Recently viewed